Puerto Rican flag

The Puerto Rican flag dates from the end of the 19th century and consists of three red and two white stripes with a blue triangle in which is contained a star.

Similar in design to Cuba’s flag (the red and blue have exchanged places), it was formally adopted as the Commonwealth’s flag in 1952.

With the star representing Puerto Rico, the three sides of the triangle represent each of the branches of government, the red is blood and the white stripes are the rights of man and freedom of the individual.

Additionally the blue represents Puerto Rico’s sea and sky and the white its beaches.